ANNUAL COUNCIL - 12 MAY 2015

11 (a) <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND REVIEW OF ALLOCATION OF</u> <u>SEATS ON COMMITTEES</u>

11 (b) APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS TO COMMITTEES

11 (c) APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND VICE CHAIRMEN

12 APPOINTMENTS TO WILTSHIRE AND SWINDON FIRE AUTHORITY

Motion from the Leader of the Council

- (a) To note this report and the legal requirements.
- (b) To re-appoint the following committees with the terms of reference as set out in the Constitution:-

Strategic Planning Area Planning – East, North, South and West Licensing Standards **Overview and Scrutiny Management** Children's Select Health Select **Environment Select** Audit Appeals Staffing Policy **Officer Appointments** Pension Fund Local Pension Board (terms of reference agreed by last Council). Police and Crime Panel Health and Wellbeing Board

- (c) To appoint those Area Boards, constituted as area committees as set out in paragraphs 12 to 14 and Appendix 1 and within the Constitution, to comprise the Unitary Councillors for that area (updated to include newly elected members).
- (d) To approve the aggregate number of committee places available to members of the Council being 174 and the number on each committee as follows:-

(Appendix 3 – schedule of committee places)

Committee	Total Number of Places for Elected Members	Conservative Group Allocation	Liberal Democrat Group Allocation	Labour Group Allocation	Independent Group Allocation	UKIP
	Moniboro	(60 seats)	(21 seats)	(4 seats)	(12 seats)	(1 seat)
Strategic Planning	11	7	3	-	1	-
Area Planning Committees						
North South East	11 11 8	8 6 7	1 2 -	- 2 -	2 1 1	- - -
West	11	7	2	-	2	-
Licensing	12	8	2	-	2	-
Overview and Scrutiny Management	15	8	4	1	2	-
Children's Select	13	8	3	1	1	-
Environment Select	13	7	4	1	1	-
Health Select	13	7	3	1	2	-
Standards	11	7	3	-	1	-
Police and Crime Panel	7	4	2	-	1	-
Audit	11	6	3	-	1	1
Appeals	8	5	1	1	1	_
Staffing Policy	9	5	2	-	1	1
Officer Appointments	5	3	1	-	1	-
Pension Fund	5	4	1	-	-	-
TOTALS:	174	107	37	7	21	2

- (e) To approve the nominations of Group Leaders, as set out in Appendix 2 for the appointment of councillors and substitutes, to serve on committees in accordance with the agreed scheme of committee places, until the next occasion membership is reviewed under the provisions of the Local Government & Housing Act 1989.
- (f) To reappoint the following co-opted non-voting members to the Standards Committee:

Mr John Scragg Miss Pam Turner Mr Paul Neale Mr Philip Gill MBE, JP

(g) To appoint the following non-elected members to the Children's Select Committee:-

Non-Elected Voting Members	Representing
Mrs L Swainston	Church of England
Dr M Thompson	Clifton Diocese Roman Catholic Church
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary- maintained)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary – academy)
Mrs A Kemp	Parent Governor (Special Educational Needs)
Mr K Brough	Parent Governor (Primary)
<u>Non-Elected Non-Voting Members</u> (Up to Five) Chloe Lintern (Member) Freya Pigott (Deputy)	School, Children and Young People representatives
Ms Cathy Shahrokni Ms Kim Hunte (Deputy)	Further Education Representative
Miss S Busby	Secondary Schools Headteacher Representative
Miss T Cornelius	Primary School Headteachers Representative
Mr J Hawkins	School Teacher Representative

(h) To appoint the following Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen:-

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Strategic Planning Committee Area Planning Committee – Eastern Area Planning Committee – Northern Area Planning Committee – Southern Area Planning Committee – Western Licensing Committee Standards Committee Audit Committee Staffing Policy Committee Officer Appointments Committee Pension Fund Committee Health and Wellbeing Board	A Davis C Howard T Trotman F Westmoreland C Newbury P Ridout J Johnson A Deane A Bucknell J Scott T Deane J Scott	A Trotman M Connolly P Hutton C Devine J Knight D Allen J Wickham R Britton J Smale JThomson C Howard delegated to the

- (j) To note that the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee, the Select Committees, Area Boards and the Police and Crime Panel will be asked to elect their respective Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen at their first meeting following the annual meeting of council.
- (k) To appoint the following councillors to serve on the Wiltshire and Swindon Fire Authority for 2015/16

Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Independent (1)
C Devine G Payne M Groom C Newbury B Wayman J Knight	P Edge B Jones	E Clark

(I) To appoint the following Councillors to serve on the Wiltshire and Dorset Fire Authority for 2015/16:

Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Independent (1)	Labour (1)
C Devine G Payne M Groom C Newbury B Wayman J Knight	P Edge B Jones	E Clark	R Rogers